Department of Trade and Commerce.—The Department of Trade and Commerce was established by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887, but did not function until Dec. 5, 1892, when an Order in Council to this effect was passed. Before the formation of the Department, assistance in the development of Canada's external trade was provided by eight Canadian Commercial Agents—five in the West Indies, two in Great Britain and one in France—who served on a partime basis and were responsible to the Minister of Finance. A Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia, in 1895, as the first full-time salaried Agent of the Department.

The framework of the present Trade Commissioner Service emerged during the next decade or so, the Commerical Agents gradually giving place to career Trade Commissioners. There are new 156 Trade Commissioners serving at Headquarters and abroad in 63 posts (including Assistant Trade Commissioners and agricultural, fisheries and timber specialists). Where a Trade Commissioner is a member of a mission maintained by the Department of External Affairs, he holds diplomatic status and is known as a Minister (Commercial), Commercial Counsellor or Commercial Secretary.

The Department provides a wide range of services to Canadian businessmen through the Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, the Canadian Government Exhibition Commission, the Commodities Branch, the International Trade Relations Branch, the Trade Commissioner Service, the Trade Publicity Branch and the Domestic Commerce Service. The latter comprises the Depreciation Certification Branch, the National Design Branch, the Industrial Promotion Branch, the Small Business Branch and the Standards Branch.

The following boards, commissions, Crown corporations and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce: the Dominion Bureau of Statistics, the Export Credits Insurance Corporation, the National Energy Board, the Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation, the Northern Transportation Company Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited and Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited.

**Department of Transport.**—The Department was created on Nov. 2, 1936 from the former Departments of Marine and of Railways and Canals, and the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence (RSC 1952, c. 79).

The work of the Department consists of three main Services—Marine, Air and Railways. Marine Service operations include aids to navigation, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, secondary canals, steamship inspection and floating equipment, and direct supervision over 300 public harbours; 11 other harbours come under supervision of the Department but are administered by commissions. Air Services cover the operation of civil aviation, meteorological and telecommunications branches. The latter includes the administration and regulation of radar, radio marine and radio aeronautical aids to navigation and of communication by wire and by government telegraph and telephone.

Other services of the Department are in connection with the Government-owned companies: the Canadian National Railways, Canadian Government Railways, the Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, and Yarmouth-Bar Harbour ferry services, and Trans-Canada Air Lines.

The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards, commissions and Crown companies: the Air Transport Board, Board of Transport Commissioners, the Canadian Maritime Commission, the National Harbours Board, the Park Steamship Company Limited, the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority, and the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation.

Department of Veterans Affairs.—This Department, established in 1944 (RSC 1952, c. 80), is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and with the dependants of veterans and of those who died on active service. The Department provides treatment services (hospital, medical, dental and prosthetic), welfare services, education assistance, life insurance, and land settlement and home construction assistance. The Veterans' Bureau assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims.

The Canadian Pension Commission established by the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), and the War Veterans Allowance Board established by the War Veterans Allowance Act (RSC 1952, c. 340) also report to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

The Department has treatment institutions and facilities in a number of urban centres. It also maintains, in large cities across Canada, administrative offices, which are shared with the Canadian Pension Commission and the War Veterans Allowance Board, and an office in London, England.

War Veterans Allowance Board.—This Board was established under the authority of the War Veterans Allowance Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c. 340). It is a statutory body responsible to the Minister of Veterans Affairs for the administration of the Act and consists of three to ten members (three to five permanent, up to three temporary, and up to two additional without pay) appointed by the Governor in Council. Its functions include the responsibility of ensuring that all 18 District Authorities located in various regions throughout Canada interpret the legislation in a fair, reasonable and equitable manner. It is also an appeal body and may consider an appeal of an applicant against the decision of a District Authority.